Krishna Water Disputes Tiribunal refuses to relook into allocation of water

Regolare Commento Stampare

The order was much awaited as to see whether fresh allocations of Krishna waters will be taken up only for Telangana state and Andhra Pradesh or for all the four states- Karnataka, Maharashtra, Telangana and Andhra Pradesh. After the formation of Telangana, the state government approached the Tribunal seeking a revision of sharing of the Krishna waters between four states instead of the earlier three states.

A further hearing in the case is adjourned to December 14 before which all the parties are directed to file their counters and objections.

From Telangana state, Chief Secretary Rajiv Sharma and Advocate-General K. Ramakrishna Reddy, and from AP State Planning Board deputy chairman C. Kutumba Rao and retired IAS officer S. Bala Subrahmanyam are the members.

Under Section 89 of the AP Reorganisation Act, 2014, which suggested allocation project wise, there is need for distribution of water among the four riparian states. The project-wise allocation can not be done in isolation for AP and TS without reviewing the allocations of upper riparian states, AP and TS contended. Now the question is whether the allocation is among the two States (Maharashtra, Karnataka) or the Telugu States are also included?

R Vidyasagar Rao, Advisor to Telangana state on irrigation, expressed disappointment over the verdict of the tribunal and the next moves will be finalised after going through the verdict in detail and taking the opinion of legal experts.

They wanted the tribunal to re-allocate water to Telugu states from the share of undivided Andhra Pradesh.

The Tribunal confirmed the allotment made in 2013 when Andhra Pradesh was not bifurcated.

Of 811 Thousand Million Cubic feet (TMC ft) allocation of surplus water, the share of Andhra Pradesh is 512 TMC ft and of Telangana is 299 TMC ft.